All-CIF Football Teams Are Heavy on Highlanders

Helix places nine players on the first and second teams; Santana's Dave Gross is coach of the year.

It shouldn't be surprising that Helix Charter High placed nine players on the first- and second-team All-CIF football squads announced this week. The San Diego Section Division II champ Highlanders, who play for a state tile on Saturday, dominated the list of names selected by a panel of media members under the auspices of the San Diego Hall of Champions.

Six Helix players were named to the first team, including quarterback Brandon Lewis, who also was tabbed as offensive player of the year. Teammate Kacy Smith, a linebacker, was on the first-team defense and earned defensive player of the year honors.

Running back Darrion Hancock, defensive linemen Amu Milo and Gary Thompson, and defensive back Jimmy Pruitt also represented the Highlanders on the first team.

Wide receiver Cameron Lee, offensive lineman Augie Lugo and linebacker Rocky Fuga were named to the second team.

Eight other schools in communities covered by Patch sites also were represented on the All-CIF football teams:

Mount Miguel: Running back Derrick Dunn and defensive lineman Cory Littleton were chosen to the first team, with Malcolm Jackson named as a defensive lineman on the second team.

Santana: Wide receiver Landon Lozoya was a first-team selection, with defensive lineman Jason Patterson and tight end TD Gross on the second team. Sultans coach Dave Gross earned coach of the year honors.

Mar Vista: The Mariners used a dominating ground game to have one of their finest seasons ever, with offensive lineman Sean Sullivan opening holes as a first-team choice and Jordan Lertique anchoring the defense as a second-team defensive back.

Coronado: Hunter Corpus made the All-CIF second team as a tight end.

Poway: The Titans placed three players on the first-team defense, including defensive lineman Brian Guendling, linebacker Alec Moreno and defensive back Derek Babiash.

Ramona: On the second-team offensive line is Bulldogs standout Kwayde Miller.

La Costa Canyon: Offensive lineman Erik Magnuson earned first-team honors, with defensive lineman Scott Quessenberry on the second team.

Oceanside: Grant Bays was a first-team defensive line pick, with linebacker William Gulley, offensive lineman Eduardo Middleton and defensive back Daniel Cedillo on the second team.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »